Day in the Life: 1

 Some mommy blogs I read are posting a detailed description of their days so we can all see we are more alike than we think! So, here’s mine.

This was yesterday (Wednesday).

7:45 a.m. Lexi wakes up, Daddy gets her up and going (it was his night to co-sleep). I’m half dozing, half awake as I listen to them read books and play in her room.

8:00 a.m. Lexi comes running into our room saying, “Wake up, Mommy!” I pull her up on the bed with me and we snuggle a bit and Art and I talk.

8:15: a.m. Art changes Lexi’s diaper while I dress/get ready for day.

8:30 a.m. Art gets ready for his day and heads to work. I put Lexi in her high chair and feed her breakfast. She requests eggs, yelling, “I LOVE scrambled eggs!” Breakfast: scrambled eggs, blueberries, milk. I eat eggs too.

9:00 a.m. Lexi plays in her playroom while I clean up the kitchen from breakfast and clean the bathrooms, I do a quick check of email/Facebook.

9:30 a.m. Get Lexi dressed and brush her hair, shoes on, diaper bag packed, strapped in the car seat and we head off for a playdate.

9:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Playdate with my playgroup. Me and three other moms talk and hang out while our kids destroy the playroom play. We go back and forth from talking with each other and refereeing toddler moments like grabbing toys out of each other’s hands. The kids range in age from 14 months to 3. We all move to the kitchen for a snack: crackers, cheese, raw veggies, brownies. Lexi actually prefers the crackers and carrots to the brownies!

11:30 a.m. -12:30 p.m. Back in the car seat, we begin to head home. Lexi starts wailing in the back seat, “no hoooooome, I don’t want to go home. I want to go to the mall and ride the merry go round and eat lunch there!” She loves to be out and about. We stop at the mall where Lexi eats a slice of pizza and an apple juice. We start walking around the mall, I let her walk a few steps ahead of me since the mall is not crowded. We get to the “rides”, those put a quarter in type, like in front of stores. She rides the merry go round, the fire truck and blue race car. When it’s time to go, she protests, loudly, but calms down pretty quickly. I browse through Macy’s looking at expensive purses (my weakness in my otherwise frugal life). Back to the car seat, head home.

1:00 p.m. -2:00 p.m. Change Lexi’s diaper, wash her hands and face and put her down for a nap. We read a few books and then its sleep time. She usually takes a 2 to two and a half hour nap each day. But today? Nothing doing! She’s bouncing all over the bed, reading her books, playing with her favorite stuffed animals (a duck named Duckers and a pig named Hamlet, also a doll named Penelope Peapod), kicking the wall, yelling, “Mommy, where are you? I’m done. Time to get up!” I go to try and rub her back and get her to sleep. Nope. She cuddles with me a bit and then wants to “go pway” (play). After an hour I figure a nap is just not going to happen, so we get up.

2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. I need the break I usually get at nap time, so Lexi plays in her playroom while I putter around the house and on the computer.

3:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m. I need a hair cut and so does Lexi. So, back into the car, we head to the local Great Clips (see, frugal!) and both get trims. She’s wonderful in the salon so I take her to Cold Stone Creamery after and get her a small ice cream. Which she eats about 3 bites of and declares she’s done.  Back in the car and head home. The whole way home Lexi has a running conversation with me/herself: “I LOVE playdates. I LOVE Great Clips….I LOVE my home too. I LOVE Grandma and Grandpa’s house. Look, there’s the diner! Hi diner! Look, there’s Costco, hi Costco! Where we going, Mommy? Home to play! I LOVE to play!”

4:00 p.m. -5:00 p.m. Lexi and I play in the playroom with her doll house. She creates this whole scenario where she (as the mommy) and me (as the baby) take a plane to Great Adventure and on rides and go swimming. She also has these characters eat dinner, sleep in the sun, go in the pool and play the piano.

5:00 p.m.-5:30 p.m. We head outside to play. Lexi runs around looking at ants and flowers, riding her tractor, going on her slide. At 5:30, Daddy comes home and hangs out with her outside while I head in to cook dinner.

5:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. Yay, it’s leftover’s night!  Meatballs, chicken, green beans. So, I heat up our food, prepare our plates, set the table and call Lexi and Daddy in. We say grace and eat dinner together, which goes mostly smoothly. There’s a few times of minor meltdowns when Daddy pours Lexi’s milk and she wanted to “help you pour, Daddy!” but other than that Art and I try to talk like adults while at the same time, including Lexi in the conversation.

Me: “How was your day?”

Art: tells an interesting story about his day

Lexi: “DAAAAAAAAADY, I LOOOOOVE YOU. Can I have more milk?”

We try to talk some more.

Lexi: “MMMM, meatballs! Today was fun, right Mommy?”

I retreat to the bedroom to read my devotional while Art cleans the kitchen and Lexi from dinner.

6:30-7:00 Art and Lexi play while I have these few moments of alone time!

7:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m. Bathtime, hair washing, teeth brushing. Again, Lexi and I play out a scenario, she loves doing this. This time its a mommy and baby mermaid learning how to jump in the water. Get Lexi’s pajamas on and we read two books, “A Color of His Own” about a chameleon and “Bedtime for Bunnies.” We say our prayers and then lights out. I lay with Lexi and sing and snuggle with her. She drops off pretty quickly since she hasn’t had her nap. Meanwhile, Art has headed out for a class at church.

8:00 p.m.-10:00 p.m. More alone time! I read! More than one page at a time! I putter around. I go online.

10:00 p.m. Art comes home, we talk for a bit (hey, I remember you, you’re my awesome husband!), Art heads to his office to chill out and I go to sleep!

10:00 p.m.-7:30 a.m. next morning: Lexi wakes once from a nightmare, around 2:30 a.m. and is crying, “I want my mommy,” I go in and take a turn co-sleeping with her.

Leave a comment